Jisan Rock Festival.

Back in Ireland Oxegen and Electric picnic were the go to rock festivals. Jisan seemed to be the go to festival to go to in Korea. I wasn’t completely impressed with the headliners and weeks before the festival itself many of my friends backed out as it was just before or in the middle of vacation season and they had to save money or get flights.

I managed to find friends going at the last minute and I had a blast with them. I also managed to meet almost every person I had met in Korea during the entirety of the weekend so there was lots of catching up to do! I managed to get off early on the Friday afternoon at 4.30 but Jisan being a bit awkward to travel to took almost 5 hours to get to by bus. I had to bus it from Daejeon to Ichon (Gyeonggi Province) and then city bus it (number 12) from Ichon to Jisan resort. By the time I got there and got my wrist bands it was 9.20 and by the time I made it to the main stage Radiohead were just coming out. I was incredibly lucky in my timing! 🙂

After an amazing set by Radiohead (who I’d wanted to see for a long long time) I had to find my friends who had settled themselves in front of the open stage to listen to some Korean metal. (Koreans love their metal and it’s funny watching people so tiny dance around to it!) We all had a few drinks and went to bed earlish (maybe 3am) The girl who was with the group shared the tent with me as the tent was only big enough for 2 people so we left the boys to sleep outside.

Rocking out with the digestive bikkies out!

The weather the whole weekend was only gorgeous. But for people with super white skin and low tolerance to the sun (like me) had to cover themselves in sun tan lotion, drink lots of liquids and stay somewhere in the shade to avoid becoming too hot and bad humoured. Saturday morning (you couldn’t sleep in a tent past 8 with the heat or the light)  amidst a slight hangover I took off for the local shop (GS25) for some ramen and the hair of the dog. All was good after including a quick power nap at the table and we were able to set off again.

breakfast – sustenance, hydration and dehydration…..

All day we lay in the sun and wandered from stage to stage. We weren’t able for much as it was so hot about 36 degrees and the humidity was unreal. Once the sun went down we all regained the strength to party on. Saturday nights headliner was James Blake which wasn’t the best music for a Saturday night session. We sat around in groups chatted and drank vodka buckets until he had finished. The night hadn’t been too bad owl city was alright but Astrovoize was what I was looking forward to later, and they rocked the ski resort to the core.

country children don’t drink from cups….we drink from buckets!

I also found my home in Jisan that night. Which was later to be kicked out of for partying too hard.

After being rudely ejected from my home I stumbled back to my tent completely convinced that the boys had moved it even had an argument with them the next day over it.

Sunday was chilled, more laying around in the shade for the hot hours of the day and moving around as the sun decided to go down. The head liners for the night were The Stone Roses who played a great show and were great crowd pleasers. The whole place went mental. Also got to see Liam Gallagher’s new band Beady Eye which were alright.

blurry stone roses

We all booked a bus to go home at 1am I had to get a bus to Seoul to get a KTX down to Daejeon which left me sleeping on the floor of Seoul station for 4 hours but I got home in time for work the next day! 🙂

main stage

View from the tent

Closest thing to dads avenue in Korea…you could pick stones on it too!

even the traffic bollards are cute in Korea!

Over 19s, camping and 3day entrance wristbands



Leave a comment